Facebook and the Green-Eyed Monster

Standard

green-eye jpgWhat kind of emotion does Facebook evoke as you look at the news feed each day? I asked myself the same question the other day. I have been a part of Facebook for several years. It is a great way to network, promote, and market. I like it because I can stay in touch with friends and family, too. When I started using it, I was thrilled to see faces I haven’t seen in years. With a few words and a little time, I could reconnect with others. I enjoyed celebrating the posts of an ever-growing friends list.

But the other day, I realized I have a bad attitude when I look at Facebook. The old green-eyed monster, also known as, envy has an ever-growing corner of my heart. I log in to Facebook and I see people (Facebook friends) living in beautiful, decorated homes. I notice others on exotic vacations to sunny destinations. Still others have seemingly perfect kids and grand kids. Their lives look like a celebratory observance of the ordinary.

My life repeats itself daily. I get up, go to work. I come home and fix dinner. I go to bed and get up and do it all over again. On the weekend, I get up and do laundry, I run errands and run myself ragged fb-depressed1getting it all done. That doesn’t make for a an interesting feed on Facebook. If I made up information I couldn’t live with myself. That is my reality no matter how I dress it up or embellish it.

So, what is one to do when you notice a bad attitude in the heart? First, you recognize the problem, then you confess it. Finally, you nip it in the bud (Barney Fifeism)! Simply and quickly I plan on uprooting the sin from the corner of my heart.

Envy slowly spreads and infiltrates our entire being. In scripture the book of wisdom is Proverbs. In Proverbs 14:30, it says, “A heart at peace gives life to the body, but envy rots the bones.”

Today, I honestly write this blog with authenticity and transparency. Lord, remove the envy and replace it with a heart at peace.”

What feelings surface in your heart when you look at Facebook? Comment below, we can all learn from one another.

7 responses »

  1. I have to say that one of the things I struggle with on Facebook is judgement. And it’s a weird kind of judgement, because I feel (at least in my own heart) that I am a fairly open-minded person. But I become judgmental over people making obvious assumptions about issues that they don’t have all the information about. Why do we do that? And why does that make me so mad? It’s anybody’s right to state their opinion, whether it’s based on accurate information or not. I just don’t have any tolerance for people who spread false and biased information, but why do I take it personally, why do I direct anger at those people? They mean well, but are misinformed, or don’t take the time to find out the whole story. They are not attacking me personally. Most people’s opinions on Facebook have nothing to do with me whatsoever, yet I find myself emotionally charged by them. I’m not really sure why I react this way, but prayer and a short Facebook break usually help. I guess we are all human, relying on the Holy Spirit to guide us to a better way. 🙂

  2. I used to enjoy looking at Facebook and connecting with old friends. Now when I look at it I am mostly annoyed by all of the advertising and re posting of sayings and thoughts that fill a large part of the news feed. I believe that Facebook has morphed into something it was not intended to be. I guess I have a combination of envy and annoyance. Truthfully I am giving serious thought to deactivating my Facebook page. It is just one more thing that has to be maintained. Thank you Cindy for your honesty and your blog. I’m right there with you sister!

  3. Hi Cindy

    I enjoyed your piece. I can relate too. I came across the expression “image crafting” that explained the concept of people carefully choosing what they post in order to showcase the desired image that they wish to present to the world of facebook. I really have a problem in seeing people’s kids’ weddings and new babies and knowing that while my son *may end up getting married and having kids, there is not much chance for Sara. I get angry and depressed when I see these photos. I also think there is an incredible amount of narcissm where people post and post and post about virtually every thing they do and want to get lots of likes and comments, but they aren’t interested in reciprocating to others posts. Just really selfish. And like Kristin Nador above, I find that I also get mad at the ignorant and misinformed comments I see on people’s facebook pages. I do not understand why this bothers me, but it often does. So while facebook has been a huge source of pleasure with me too, it has also can be upsetting.

  4. Cindy, you just convinced me that I made the right decision not to do facebook….I recently thought I might even if I did it under a different name, just to read what people write…..Mostly I don’t want to be trapped in something on the computer everyday…..Thanks for your honesty and I admire that you can turn things around to be a blessing not a curse….HHLogan

Leave a Reply

