Rainbow Shooters

Standard

rainbowA couple of years ago a friend of mine was going through a particularly difficult time. She had weathered numerous storms in her life but this time, there were several stressful things happening all at once. Trials with her health, difficulties with her children, and even family issues were taking a toll on her. She was suffering spiritually, physically, mentally, and emotionally. She said to preserve her sanity she had pulled away from a lot of relationships. This young woman who was always an outgoing, sanguine personality had to set distinct boundaries in her life in order to survive during this time.

As she poured out her heart to me, she explained the hurtful conversations she had with others when she tried to maintain relationships with her friends and family. Through her tears, she told me that being around people with seemingly perfect lives made her angry and sad. She said, as she was looking for hope and mercy just to survive each day, those people complained about everything. To make matters worse, she said they offered her meaningless advice and empty platitudes, to try to help. I asked her how that made her feel and I will never forget how she described those people. Her voice broke as she cried, “They are nothing but a bunch of rainbow shooters!” At that moment, I totally understood. 

Later I spent a lot of time pondering her description. I decided you could take the term “rainbow shooters” a couple of ways. Did she mean they offer a shot of something to make her feel better, like the “rainbow shooter” drinks that are served in a bar? Maybe a quick, “you will feel better soon” or “this too shall pass.” rainbow shot A small shot of mercy that might deaden her pain for a while.

Or did she mean, while she was looking to the Lord for hope and mercy (like the Biblical promise in the rainbow)  they took aim at her heart and shot down her rainbow? Were they shattering  the Lord’s promises which was all she had to hold onto during this time?

To this day, I am not sure what the meaning is but there is one thing I know for sure, I don’t want to be a “rainbow shooter” to my rainbow gunfriends and family. It is always hard to watch someone struggle in their lives as they face things beyond their control. But, I am learning to be slow to speak and quick to lavish others with my love and prayers.

God gave the rainbow in Genesis 9 as sign to Noah and to us, so we will remember God, His promises, His mercy, His hope and His everlasting covenant. Genesis 9:16, “Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.” The question for us is this, will we point others to God’s promises or will we be “rainbow shooters?”

  

19 responses »

  1. Cindy, nicely said. We sometimes hear others through a filter of “how do their words affect us?” Maybe we should just listen and love.

  2. Friend, you continue to be used of God in marvelous ways. Another challenging post! Love you!

    Sent from my iPhone

    • If you connect with the idea of a “rainbow shooter” I know you aren’t one. Thank you for reading these simple thoughts. With so much information bombarding us daily, I am extremely humbled when anyone comments on Pensees. You are loved and appreciated in Oklahoma. 🙂

  3. Thank you for this message.  Cindy,I cannot remember if I told you that my 28 year old grandson (adopted son of deceased daughter, Nancy) died two weeks ago today — drug overdose.  He was born addicted to alcohol and cocaine.  Love, Joan

    ________________________________

  4. Cindy, what a joy to read your blog yesterday! We are in Kenai, alaska fishing; new world; salve to the soul. Back sometime in September. Keep up your wonderful writing…I love it …and you! Karen

  5. Hi Dear Friend: You are such and good listener, and you come up such wonderful ways to think on things…you do have a way with the words you put together…. and we all grow by what you convey to us and share with others…You are a true blessing…I love rainbow stories, I have a great one I’ll share with you some time. Have and great week and I’m really hope you and Mark get away….Let us know..Helen   

    • Thank you for taking time to read the Pensees blog. I always feel like I over expose myself through words. You are a dear friend who makes me better by being in your presence.

  6. Cindy, you never fail touch me in some way with your beautifully crafted writing skills, and with the talent Our God has given you to see and explain to others His ways through ordinary life events. Thank you, Sweet Lady, for this article today.

Leave a Reply

