Scarred for Life

Standard

bandaged ladyHave you ever seen anyone who has terrible scars due to illness, accident, or trauma?  I remember seeing a young woman on a talk show who was terribly disfigured because her father poured acid on her face and hands.  The burns healed but she would need numerous plastic surgeries. Through her tears, she said, “I’ll never be the same on the inside or outside.”

This courageous lady, broke down and cried when she talked about her life. She openly admitted that the hardest part was going out in public where others could see her scars.  She said people either gasp and stare, turn away shocked, or they approach her, ask questions, and offer her their compassion.

Not many of us escape this life without an event or trauma that leaves us changed forever. All of us are scarred in some way. For most of us, our scars are on the inside, not visible to others. I wonder what it would be like to go out into public where everyone’s internal scars are exposed? Imagine walking down the street and actually seeing the visible scars of mental abuse, failure, public sin, disappointment, loss, depression, and persecution.

How would we respond and react to one another if, we knew their scar filled story?  Would we stare and secretlyhands compare our wounds to theirs?  Would we be thankful that our hurts aren’t as bad as theirs? Would we turn away shocked to see someone so exposed and vulnerable? Or, would we take time to approach them, ask questions, and extend heartfelt compassion and care? 

I pray I would be like Jesus. He was an advocate for the down and out.  He came to the rescue of those with internal, as well as, external scars. He reached out to the demon possessed, those caught in adultery, and even prostitutes who sold their self-esteem and reputation for a bit of bread. Psalm 145:9 says, “The Lord is good to all, and His compassion is over all that he has made.” May we follow the example of Jesus, the one who extended compassion with perfection.

8 responses »

  1. Very well said, Cindy. We don’t always know what others are going through. I have a sister has chronic asthma and was bullied in school because people couldn’t “see” it so they said she was faking all the time. I can’t imagine how this must of hurt her, especially growing up as healthy kid and not always understanding it myself.

    • You are such an encourager. Thank you for taking time to read my post. I value your opinion as an editor/writer/publisher but also as a human being. With gratitude, cm

  2. Cindy, Your writing always touches my heart. I so appreciate your perspective. It is easy to hide some of our scars, but maybe we shouldn’t? Scars are reminders not just that we suffered, but that we SURVIVED. Scars should be celebrated. I know it would take time to get it to catch on, and I’m certainly not asking for any more! Just a thought? 🙂

  3. I love how God can inspire a healthy heart, through the broken hearted… I have ugly scars from multiple surgeries, but each time I’m asked about one of them, it gives me the opportunity to share what God has done in my life. Each time I share my testimony I’m reminded of those difficult years, but at the same time God reveals to me, that I am healed. I am so thankful we serve such a compassionate God! Thanks again Cindy for another great message.

Leave a Reply

