Crossing the Line

Standard

Okay, I have never shared a pet peeve with my readers but there is a first time for everything! 

Here is the first pet peeve. I hate meeting cars head on and then notice that the driver is texting. How do I know a driver I am meeting head on is texting? Well, they cross the line right before they pass me and then they look up horrified (like a deer in the headlights) when they realize they are about to hit me head on! Then, they swerve and nearly side swipe the car next to them. That’s how I know!

It happens all the time.  My route to work everyday is also the main route to the local high school. This week, I actually saw a teenage driver crash into the back of a man’s car because she was looking down texting. The man did not slow down to turn or anything, she was so distracted that she hit him full speed without ever using her break. She was still holding her cell phone when she got out of the car to see if the man was okay. And guess what she did? She actually finished the text as she walked to the man’s car. No, I am not kidding!

I did a little research to find out that teenage drivers are ending up in more accidents than ever, the Department of Motor Vehicles blames the increase on cell phone usage while driving. Head-on collisions in some states have doubled due to texters crossing the center line.

Some states have passed laws against using a cell phone to talk or text while driving. They have added paved areas for drivers to park so they can talk or text while traveling on some of the major highways. The no texting laws are in a driver’s best interest. It is dangerous to text and drive, breaking this law could cost someone their life. 

I couldn’t help but think this lesson can apply to us as Christ-followers. As we go through our daily lives, living life in the fast lane, we get distracted with the ways of the world. God has given His Word to direct our actions. But it is easy for us to ignore or break  God’s laws or rules. We can easily get into the habit of disobeying God’s Word and pretty soon we cross that deadly  line of sin and disobedience.  If we are not careful our lives are destroyed.

Just like the civil law, God’s Word gives rules and laws for our protection. Deuteronomy 30:19-20, God is speaking to Israel but He is also speaking to us, “I call heaven and earth to witness against you today, that I have set before you life and death, the blessing and the curse. So choose life in order that you may live, you and your descendants, by loving the Lord your God, by obeying His voice, and by holding fast to Him; for this is your life and the length of your days,…”

What worldly things are distracting you? What from God’s Word are you ignoring? Where have you crossed the line? What steps will you take to start obeying God’s Word?

Heavenly Father, Thank you for protecting us when we are driven by disobedience and distracted by the world. Forgive us when we cross that dangerous line and put us back on the track of obedience and life. In Jesus Name, Amen

About cindymmolder

I found out this "About" section is the place where I tell a "little" about me and "a lot" about the blog! Writing is therapy for me. It takes the pensees(French for thought) from my mind and gets them in print. For some reason, seemingly ordinary things form lessons in my mind. So basically, this blog consists of simple thoughts molded into life lessons. Maybe my last name is Molder because I am a Molder of Pensees. I am open to your stories and lessons also. Send them to me and you might be featured in a future blog!

One response »

Leave a Reply

