Almond Joy and the Joy of my Heart

Standard

When we lived in North Carolina, I met my friend Sandra. Our sons were playmates in preschool and not only did the boys hit it off, Sandra and I did, too. We’ve been friends for over 30 years. Sandra was a great wife to her husband and a wonderful mother to her children. The first time we met, I knew there was something different about her and in time, I found out what made her unique.

One time I was babysitting her children. As she walked out the door, she told me there was a little gift for me in the kitchen. I was so excited. We both lived on tight budgets and we didn’t get too many surprises or treats. I knew that if she bought me anything, it came with great sacrifice on her part.

After she left, I went into the kitchen and found a brown paper bag.  I opened the bag to find an Almond Joy candy bar and a neatly wrapped gift. I carefully opened the package and inside was a beautiful green and gold Living Bible. I was so excited to have the candy bar but I couldn’t wait to check out my new Bible. The only Bible I owned was one from my childhood and the dog had chewed up all  the book of Jonah and most of the book of John.

Sandra didn’t know at the time but her gifts changed my life and my destiny. Several months later while I was reading the Living Bible, I came to know the Lord from the Truth found in the book of Romans.  That Almond Joy candy bar was a sweet treat but pure joy came from the sweet words of God! Psalm 119:111, “I have inherited Your testimonies forever, For they are the joy of my heart.”

Over time, I learned  what made my friend different, it was her relationship with Jesus Christ. She had a countenance of peace, great wisdom, and a heart full of love and joy. She shared with me the greatest gift we can give to another, the sweet life-giving, life-changing Word of God. To this day, God’s Word is my passion! I crave it like a sugar addict craves an Almond Joy!

Who in your life will you influence for Christ?  What eternal opportunities are right under your nose?

Heavenly Father, Thank you for putting people in our lives who make an eternal difference. Open our eyes to new opportunities at home, at school, with our friends, at work and even in our churches. In Jesus Name, Amen

archived devotionals at circleofsavings.com

About cindymmolder

I found out this "About" section is the place where I tell a "little" about me and "a lot" about the blog! Writing is therapy for me. It takes the pensees(French for thought) from my mind and gets them in print. For some reason, seemingly ordinary things form lessons in my mind. So basically, this blog consists of simple thoughts molded into life lessons. Maybe my last name is Molder because I am a Molder of Pensees. I am open to your stories and lessons also. Send them to me and you might be featured in a future blog!

14 responses »

  1. This was a “joy” to read because I can relate. It made me realize how blessed I am that several people have similarily touched my life and influenced my journey — and you’re one of them!

  2. I really enjoyed this story- It reminds me of all the precious people in my life that loved me enough to share their Godly wisdom with me. God’s love is contagious when we care enough to get close to someone and enlighten them about Gods truths and pray for their spiritual journey. I am thankful for what Sandra did for you and what you do for so many of us. You truly are one of my “precious people”.

    Thanks for everything-
    Shelly Goodin

  3. Cindy, I loved reading your story today. We just never know when a simple gesture, like the gift of your friend, can be the turning point in someone’s life.

  4. We may never know, as we drop little seeds along lifes pathway, how much they willl grow and what they might actually produce..

  5. Cindy!! This “blog” thingy appeared in my emails today and WOW….what a wonderful gift! As you may remember, I’m not the sharpest knife in the drawer when it comes to computers (thanks for sending me the info on how to cut and paste), but I’ve now launched into a new attitude. This blog is like having an ongoing Bible study. I’m in! What a joy!

Leave a Reply

