Pour It Out

Standard

When I sat down at the computer to write this post, I thought, “Oh no, my thoughts have dried up!”  It’s been one of those weeks. I have this nasty sinus thing and it gives me brain fog. There have been so many interruptions and unexpected stressors this week. I haven’t slept well and winter returned to Oklahoma. Those cold, cloudy, dreary, damp days of February are here.

I stared at the computer screen and no words came. Then, I heard a still small voice whisper, “You still have something to give, pour it out.” I immediately thought I can’t I’m drained. Again, the Spirit prompted me, “Pour it out!” That time it was more than a gentle suggestion, it was a “do it now” command. I knew I needed to slow down and listen as the Lord guided me about what to write. So I took a break.

I was unloading the dishwasher and as usual, the glasses still had a little bit of water left in the top. I would lift a glass from the upper rack and pour out the excess. One after another, I poured out leftover water. Before long, I knew what the Lord was teaching.  No matter how drained I am, no matter how I think my thoughts and words have dried up, I still have a little more to give. Because I belong to Christ I have more than enough to pour out.

Scripture is full of verses that speak to this spiritual overflow. In John 4:14, Jesus tells the Samaritan woman the water He gives will become a well of water springing up to eternal life. In the book of Acts the Holy Spirit was poured out from God and filled believers. Psalm 23 says “My cup overflows.”

Okay, I’m convinced I have more than enough to pour out. How about you?

Maybe you are a young stay at home mom?  The budget is tight, the kids are sick, the house is messy…Pour it out…Maybe you’re facing a layoff or job loss and you wonder how to provide for your family?…Pour it out…Maybe you’re dealing with a prodigal son/daughter and you’re at your wit’s end? Pour it out…Maybe you are facing an illness and long-term treatment?…Pour it out…

Because of Jesus there is more than a little left in you, why not pour it out?

Heavenly Father, Because of you, we have an abundance of what we need. Will You spring forth, fill us to overflowing with your power to live victoriously. In the name of  Jesus, the One Who is the Living Water, Amen

About cindymmolder

I found out this "About" section is the place where I tell a "little" about me and "a lot" about the blog! Writing is therapy for me. It takes the pensees(French for thought) from my mind and gets them in print. For some reason, seemingly ordinary things form lessons in my mind. So basically, this blog consists of simple thoughts molded into life lessons. Maybe my last name is Molder because I am a Molder of Pensees. I am open to your stories and lessons also. Send them to me and you might be featured in a future blog!

6 responses »

  1. You had just enough left in you to pour out the “drink” I needed today. Can’t put my finger on why, but over the past few weeks I’ve been plagued by feelings of fear and anxiety. I know…the Bible tells us not to be anxious; put our faith in God and trust in Him. I’m trying hard to focus on Him, but when I least expect it those darned feelings filter in again. Your thoughts gave me the boost I needed just now.

    • Boy Linda, I know what you mean, we are being bombarded by things that cause fear, like the economy, elections, etc…I also know you have a lot of stress right now…Hang in there, you are loved and needed by many…Hugs from across town. cm

  2. Sweet Cindy,
    Thank you for the spiritual “jump start” today. I too have had a week similar to what you have described and I feel completely “dried up” as well. At times I just want to make like a groundhog and crawl into a hole and hide…I have nothing left to give.

    I love how our majestic God uses the most ordinary and mundane task to teach us such profound truths. As always, you glorified God in your message through your talents and teachings. Thank you for “pouring it out”.

    And by the way, the little bit of water that is left on top of the glasses has ALWAYS annoyed me. Now I’ll never unload the dishwasher the same again. 🙂

    • Thank you for making me smile today, I totally get that annoying water on the glass thing…why use the dry cycle if we get everything wet as we unload. I pray all is well with you and your family as you transition to a new country, AHHH continent…hugs from south of town…cm

Leave a Reply

