Start Over

Standard

Remember me?  I’m back and I look forward to spending 2012 with you! Happy New Year! Or is it? 

When we were last together, we were getting ready for Christmas 2011 and now it’s long gone. We survived Black Friday and Cyber Monday. Hopefully you survived Blue Monday.

If you don’t know about Blue Monday, it’s the third Monday in January and it ‘s known to be the saddest bluest day of the year.  Why? Psychologists say Christmas is over and about the time the decorations and tree come down, the Christmas bills start piling up.  The days are short, there is less sunshine and Spring is still weeks away. I guess to sum it up, “Reality Bites.”

Maybe you find yourself a little down this month. Things aren’t going the way you had hoped for 2012 and we are only three weeks into the year. Maybe you’ve already broken your New Year’s resolution and your daily reality really hasn’t changed.

I want to “share” something with you that my friend Karen B. read for several years to her large BSF class in Tulsa.  The first class day in January she encouraged us with this poem. I don’t know who gets the credit for writing it. So for now, I will say Miss Anony Mous wrote it. I know it will encourage you, too!  Thanks Karen B.!

START OVER

When you’ve trusted Jesus and walked His way,

When you’ve felt His hand lead you day by day,

But your steps now take you another way,

Start over.

When you’ve made your plans and they’ve gone awry,

When you’ve tried your best ’till there’s no more try,

When you’ve failed yourself and you don’t know why,

Start over.

When you’ve told your friends what you plan to do,

When you’ve trusted them but they didn’t come through,

Now you’re all alone and it’s up to you,

Start over.

When you’ve failed your kids and they’re grown and gone,

When you’ve done your best but it turned out wrong,

And now your grandchildren have come along,

Start over.

When you’ve prayed to God so you’ll know His will,

When you’ve prayed and prayed but you don’t know still,

When you want to stop ’cause you’ve had your fill,

Start over.

When you think you’re finished and want to quit,

When you’ve bottomed out of life’s deepest pit,

When you’ve tried and tried to get out of it,

Start over.

When the year’s been long and successes few,

When December comes and you’re feeling blue,

God gives a January just so you’ll,

Start over.

Starting over means victories won,

Starting over means a race well run,

Starting over means the Lord’s “well done”

…so don’t just sit there, start over.

Additional Archives at http://circleofsavings.com/Devotional.aspx

 

6 responses »

  1. AND throw in a getting older birthday in there and it truly is the time
    to start. Loved your “sermon” and thanks for the card. Becky

    • Hey, I got your text message the other day. We changed phone carriers and I missed a bunch of texts then they all arrived at the same time. Thanks for listening to the “message” online. That means so much to me…thanks for reading the blog too…Hugs to Jerry…

  2. I love this – I keep reading it over and over – have printed it out to read yet again. This reminds me of my favorite Bible verse, Psalms 51:10 “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me”. Let me “start over” with a clean heart and a renewed spirit!!!! Thank you for this ministry Cindy.

    • You have always been such an encouragement in my life…You even know the best kept secret about me, ” I DRIVE WAY TOOOO FAST!” I love Psalm 51, too! Thanks for your words and THE WORD today…a great way to begin January 27th. Hugs

Leave a Reply

