In the Gutter

Standard

Sunday afternoon was so warm and breezy that I had the screen door open to the patio. I was reading and I heard a scratching noise. I couldn’t figure out where it was coming from so I ignored it. In a few minutes, I noticed a little wren up on roof right by the gutter. She was pecking and pulling at the wire cover. She became extremely agitated and pretty soon there were other wrens who joined her. They too, pecked and pulled at the gutter screen. When I would go out to the patio, the birds would fly away but the scratching sound became louder.

Mark  got a ladder and found a little wren was trapped down in the gutter under the mesh. It was fighting but without Mark’s help there was no way the bird would fly free. Finally, Mark gently lifted her to safety.

As I watched, I couldn’t help but think about what I saw. The birds were desperately trying to free their feathered friend but it didn’t work. But, as they cried out, they alerted us to their dilemma and we were able to help them. I asked myself, what would I do if I had a friend in the gutter of life, trapped in a hopeless situation? Would I come to their aid? Would I cry out for the help they need. Odds are my first reaction would be, “I shouldn’t get involved” or “they need help that I’m not qualified to give” or “I wouldn’t know what to say.”

Proverbs 17:17 says, “A friends loves at all times, ”  I think ALL includes the “in the gutter” times of life. Look at your friends, is there anyone in the gutter? Maybe the gutter of depression, addiction, illness, or loneliness? How can you love them and help through this time where they feel trapped and helpless?

Heavenly Father, thank you for the gift of friendship. Teach us to be friends who love at all times,  during the good times and in the gutter times.  Amen

archived devotionals:  http://circleofsavings.com/Devotional.aspx

One response »

Leave a Reply

